Master in Data Science & Analytics in Universiti Sains Malaysia

Mahira Hamzah
4 min readOct 9, 2020

--

Sharing my Master Data Science & Analytics in Universiti Sains Malaysia journey.

Picturesque Campus in Beautiful Penang. Source : USMofficial2969

This article is based on my personal point of view and experience.

Why did I choose Data Science?

I started my career in Infineon Technologies as Equipment Automation Engineer and then continued my semiconductor industry journey in OSRAM Opto Semiconductor as Computer Integrated Manufacturing Engineer. Both experiences exposed me to the idea of Industrie 4.0. I had the excellent opportunity to be a representative for OSRAM attending SEMICON South East Asia at Kuala Lumpur 2018.

During this time, my interest in Data Science was truly sparked, and I decided that I want to be in this field. I’ve considered self-learning and teaching with all the resources and MOOC available, but I was uncertain of the suitable path and direction I should take. Then I found out about the Master of Data Science & Analytics program available at Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM). Given that USM is in the top 100 for Impact Ranking 2020 according to The World University Ranking, I believe this will be the right direction. After assessing the program structure and syllabus, I decided to apply for it.

Application

I submitted my application through USM’s admission website and received the offer admission letter for September 2018 intake not long after that. There were self-registration and self-enrollment online and a new intake briefing to confirm the offer acceptance. So that was it. I officially join the 2018/2019 cohort.

The program was offered on a full-time basis with a minimum period of candidature of three (3) semesters and a maximum of six (6) semesters. At first, I plan to take a 1.5-year scheme (3 semesters), and little did I know maintaining life balance with full-time working as an engineer and full-time student is way tougher than I thought it to be. So I changed my plan after the first semester to take a 2-year scheme.

First semester :

1. Principles & Practices of Data Science & Analytics

2. Big Data Storage & Management

3. Machine Learning

4. Data Visualisation & Visual Analytics

Second Semester :

1. Enabling Technologies & Infrastructures for Big Data

2. Business Intelligence & Decision Analytics

3. Predictive Business Analytics

Third Semester :

1. Research, Consultancy & Professional Skills

2. Consumer Behavioural & Social Media Analytics

Last Semester:

  1. Practicum

Subjects I didn’t take:

There are six elective subjects available, and I have to choose only three so here’s are the other three that I didn’t choose. I chose those subjects that are more related to Business Analytics.

  1. Multimodal Information Retrieval
  2. Text and Speech Analytics
  3. Forensic Analytics and Digital Investigations

The Bad Experience

At first, it messed up with my physical and mental health. To maintain focus and energy level at work in the daytime and then class at night, I’ve been having high sugar eating habits and late-night snacking. I felt terribly sluggish at the end of the day. I messed up my sleep cycle because I need to finish assignments/projects/lab exercises and some revision for exams. I stopped doing exercise entirely. I became overweight. My overwork lifestyle triggers my depression which I tried so hard to deny and hide it. I have been telling myself I’m okay, and this will pass. I did consider giving up and drop out few times.

The G̶o̶o̶d̶ Great Experience

All the lecturers are top-notch. Usually, there are two lecturers for each subject and in some subjects only one lecturer. Basically, a lecturer will teach the first half of the semester then there will be assignments, labs, projects, and tests. After that, another lecturer will conduct the second half-semester with the same concept. Also usually, they’ll have teaching assistants together in the class.

For example, in my machine learning class, the first half of the semester was taught by Dr. Umi Kalsom. She teaches me the concept of machine learning and some of the algorithms. We have labs for the algorithms which we do programming using python. Then the second half was taught by Dr. Halim.

Here’s the link to see all the lecturers’ qualification

Building networks. During my batch, half of the class is working professionals. They were from all sorts of backgrounds — engineers, bankers, statisticians, analysts, pharmacists, educators, and many more. On top of that, many of them work in MNC companies and some in government sectors, while others are either in budding startups or even in their own business. Throughout my journey, I made a lot of friends.

Some small, simple things I enjoyed being a student. I can get a student discount whenever possible.

Joining USM activities

Food — Black Cabin and The Kapit

Update on February 2021.

I just finished my final presentation, which was conducted online, and now waiting for the result. Finger crossed, after all the ups and downs, I can finally say I will be graduating soon.

My mental and physical health is now slowly recovering. I have to say it worth all the blood, sweat, and tears.

In addition to this master’s program, I still do self-learn from Youtube videos, Coursera, Udemy, and all available sources from the internet.

--

--

Mahira Hamzah

8+ years experience in Semiconductor Manufacturing Industry | Msc Data Science & Analytics